Although the change is significant, it is unclear why the time window is so specific. The feature to delete unwanted messages was launched in October 2017 under the name ‘delete for everyone.’ It enabled users to delete the message from all devices involved in the conversation. But that could be done only within seven minutes.
WhatsApp’s website doesn’t offer an explanation about the newly introduced time limit. With the new limit, you will be able to delete any unwanted message or an entire convo from your peer’s phone.
Other similar messaging services have a feature for secret conversations which generates a conversation that won’t be stored on either device. WhatsApp lacks such feature, but after the latest change, temporary conversations could become a thing on the Facebook-owned service too.
‘Delete for Everyone’ Feature Has Been A Game Changer
Last fall, WhatsApp allowed users to delete messages after they tapped the send button but in the next seven minutes after sending them. The messages were deleted from conversations and group chats on both the sender’s and receiver’s devices.
However, both parties needed the latest version of the app to be installed on their device. The feature called ‘delete for everyone’ was rolled out gradually. Before the change, users could only delete messages and conversations stored on their devices.
At the time, WhatsApp warned that recipients could still see the unwanted message before it is deleted. Also, some users may see bits of the deleted message in their notifications tab.
Nevertheless, the feature has been quite handy especially for those alcohol-induced messages.
Image Source: Pxhere